Endangered place and nation

𝗝𝗼𝗵𝗻 𝟭𝟭:𝟰𝟳-𝟰𝟴 𝗦𝗼 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗰𝗵𝗶𝗲𝗳 𝗽𝗿𝗶𝗲𝘀𝘁𝘀 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗣𝗵𝗮𝗿𝗶𝘀𝗲𝗲𝘀 𝗴𝗮𝘁𝗵𝗲𝗿𝗲𝗱 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗰𝗼𝘂𝗻𝗰𝗶𝗹 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝘀𝗮𝗶𝗱, “𝗪𝗵𝗮𝘁 𝗮𝗿𝗲 𝘄𝗲 𝘁𝗼 𝗱𝗼? 𝗙𝗼𝗿 𝘁𝗵𝗶𝘀 𝗺𝗮𝗻 𝗽𝗲𝗿𝗳𝗼𝗿𝗺𝘀 𝗺𝗮𝗻𝘆 𝘀𝗶𝗴𝗻𝘀. 𝗜𝗳 𝘄𝗲 𝗹𝗲𝘁 𝗵𝗶𝗺 𝗴𝗼 𝗼𝗻 𝗹𝗶𝗸𝗲 𝘁𝗵𝗶𝘀, 𝗲𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘆𝗼𝗻𝗲 𝘄𝗶𝗹𝗹 𝗯𝗲𝗹𝗶𝗲𝘃𝗲 𝗶𝗻 𝗵𝗶𝗺, 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗥𝗼𝗺𝗮𝗻𝘀 𝘄𝗶𝗹𝗹 𝗰𝗼𝗺𝗲 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝘁𝗮𝗸𝗲 𝗮𝘄𝗮𝘆 𝗯𝗼𝘁𝗵 𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗽𝗹𝗮𝗰𝗲 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗻𝗮𝘁𝗶𝗼𝗻.”

Jesus had raised Lazarus from the dead, with many witnesses, including Pharisees who could not deny the miraculous work. Some of them began following Jesus at that point, but others returned to Jerusalem, concerned for what this meant to their standing and security. Their words above indicate a fear of lost prominence (“our place”) and the nation of Israel itself (“our nation”).

It was presumed, then, that Jesus was as they were, power-grubbing authority hounds who lorded what they knew and what they did over the people. And of course Jesus was after political control, inciting rebellion against the Roman occupiers. Jesus had never given any indication of those claims and projecting motives was just wrong.

It’s not that Jesus would ever uphold their leadership; they ran a corrupt system of perverse and diluted spirituality. That meant they were indeed in danger of losing their “place”. But that was happening in any case for in 70 AD the nation rebelled and their entire system was destroyed, temple and all. Towards the religious practice of Jews of Israel, Jesus could be seen as more of a reformer than rebel. Yet, the authorities would have none of it.

It is upon me to not defend my position or my nation or my church or my family from Jesus. Why would I do that? Because I am afraid of the change Jesus would bring. I might lose authority or influence. My country might become “weak” in its defenses or standing among nations. I might have to eat humble pie and admit and turn my sin and patterns of control and coercion.

I may never say I’d oppose Jesus and strongly state my allegiance to everything he says or does. But in fact the Holy Spirit is inexorable in revealing ways I still cling to my own ways, possessions and importance. Prestige is a subtle yet vicious idol.

God is good and grants all humanity with fulfillment, justice and truth. We have stuff and position and blessed trajectory in life all from God’s hand. None of that is retracted or relented. The temptation and worldly encouragement is to construct surroundings and systems that protect and accumulate those blessings in ways that benefit us above all else. That’s idolatry. That’s being afraid for “our place” and “our nation”.

Christ in us is better than that and

𝗣𝗿𝗼𝘃𝗲𝗿𝗯𝘀 𝟭𝟬:𝟮𝟮 𝗧𝗵𝗲 𝗯𝗹𝗲𝘀𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗼𝗳 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝗟𝗢𝗥𝗗 𝗯𝗿𝗶𝗻𝗴𝘀 𝘄𝗲𝗮𝗹𝘁𝗵, 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗵𝗲 𝗮𝗱𝗱𝘀 𝗻𝗼 𝘁𝗿𝗼𝘂𝗯𝗹𝗲 𝘁𝗼 𝗶𝘁.

that is, wealth of all kinds. Let me (and let us) rest in that.

Leave a comment