The inner wash

Matthew 15:18-20 “But what comes out of the mouth proceeds from the heart, and this defiles a person. For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false witness, slander. These are what defile a person. But to eat with unwashed hands does not defile anyone.”

The “traditions of the elders” and nothing in scripture or the Law compelled the Jewish leaders to wash before eating.  It’s certainly not a bad idea but the compulsion is overplayed.  It was a point of compliance forced on the people by those who “knew best”.  Except, they did NOT know best.

Jesus’ description of what comes out of the mouth – in words which turn into deeds – is a list of depraved output that brings people into their worst state.  They reveal something very broken inside and that brokenness dwarfs any hand-washing or external action to cleanse the skin or extremities.  A good adage is “you can’t wash your heart”, because only God can do that.

The call is to integrity – to be the same person outside as inside.  It means acknowledging the ugliness and filthy thoughts within and allowing God to heal and cleanse.  It means not trying to look good (or look bad) or compelling others to look good.  As the evil-doer, adulterer and murderer and then heart-broken King David said:

Psalm 51:6 Surely you desire truth in the inner parts; you teach me wisdom in the inmost place.

For it is not merely delusional to hide what’s inside, it’s deadly.  As David had ceased doing (though he knew better), let me let God do this:

Psalm 139:23-24 Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

It is a sign of saving faith that I allow the light to shine even on my most shameful parts.

Leave a comment